Update

It’s been a while since I last wrote anything. The reason being that I’ve been using the once only-a-server-box as my everyday pc since my newer one died on me. This endeavour has forced me to use linux even more and I’ve learned a lot. Right now I have a very minimal Debian install with Fluxbox. I have my old posts saved up in my gmail and on the computer. Earlier today I was trying to download the files from gmail, but ran into a scary scenario. When I made a tar backup of all the stuff that used to be on the server (not very much) I had to change the file extesion to .dat so that gmail would allow me to upload it. Then when I was ready to download it today I could not because the gmail anti-virus claimed that it contained a virus after a scan. Obviously the file didn’t contain a virus, the anti-virus just though it was suspicious. Later I tried to forward it to my hotmail account, but gmail displayed ”One of your attachments contained a virus and could not be sent. Remove attachment and send”. Finally I downloaded icedove (almost same as thunderbird) and fortunately I was able to download the file. So I suppose also other similary email clients can bypass this anti-virus, e.g. Outlook.

0 Responses to “Update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

