Importing Old WordPress Posts

I managed to import my first wordpress posts from the backup that I had saved in Gmail. Finding a way to retrieve the posts from the backup took a few hours, since I couldn’t find any help online. My backup consisted of the whole wordpress folder and the mysql tables. I copied all the sql entries to mysql and then changed the wp_config file a little. However, getting the posts through the old wordpress folder (http://localhost/wordpress) didn’t work because I had earlier redirected my url to morph.dy.fi. For a long time I tried to look for a way to disable the redirrect, but then gave up. So here is the method I came up with:

1 from your old sql backup import wp_posts
2 download a fresh copy of wordpress and extract it to your www directory
3 install wordpress as usual, remember to make a sql database and edit wp_config
4 once you are done remove wp_posts from the new database you have just created
5 after the table has been removed import the old wp_posts table
6 now when you navigate to http://localhost/wordpress login and go to the manage tab in the dashboard
7 click on the export tab and then on download export file

Now you should have the XML file on your computer, which you can import with your other wordpress blog. The dates of when the posts were written should be included.

0 Responses to “Importing Old WordPress Posts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

