Root, the source of all good and evil…

Just like a hero, being root requires great responsability… this should never be forgotten. Today I made a big mistake. I was about to remove a directory from /usr/share/, so I typed in rm -r /usr/ – and then accidently smacked enter. Initially I got petrified thinking that I had only typed rm -r /… but then I realized that my important unreplaceable files could be rescued… annoying nevertheless. The incident got me pondering about how carelessly I proceed with my root actions after typing su, something similar is bound to happen someday if I’m not careful, possibly having a worse outcome. Have to watch out more.

EDIT: I now have added a remove y/n promt through .bashrc

0 Responses to “Root, the source of all good and evil…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

